follow us:

LinkedIn_Icon twitter-logo facebook-logo youtube-logo
HomeSitemapLegal NoticePrivacyContactPrint



New Leadership in 2018

Hermann Feise confirmed as new EFCE President -
New Vice-Presidents and new trustees to join Executive Board in 2018


Executive Board members (EFCE Charity Trustees)


EFCE President

Dr. Hermann J. Feise
GOI Innovation Management / OC - C006
Carl-Bosch-Str. 38
67056 Ludwigshafen
E-mail: Hermann.Feise(at)

EFCE Executive Vice-President

Mr. Giorgio Veronesi
Techint Compagnia
Tecnica Internazionale SpA
Via Monte Rosa 93
20149 Milano
E-mail: giorgio.veronesi(at)

EFCE Scientific Vice-President

Professor David Bogle
University College London
Department of Chemical Engineering
Gower Street
London WC1E 6BT
United Kingdom
E-mail: docschoolhead(at)



EFCE Leadership

EFCE President and Vice-Presidents  (EFCE Officers)


Dr. Hermann J. Feise (EFCE President)
(term of office: 1 January 2018 to 31 December 2019)

Dr. Hermann J. Feise, Germany, succeeds Prof. Rafiqul Gani, who held this position for four years (2014-2017).
At the recent EFCE General Assembly in Barcelona, Spain, he was elected for a two-year term of office with effect from 1 January 2018.

Hermann Feise is manager for R&D Cooperations with BASF and a member of DECHEMA. He first joined the EFCE Executive Board in 2008, serving as Scientific Vice-President from 2008 to 2012 and then as a co-opted member and trustee until now.


Mr. Giorgio Veronesi (Executive Vice-President)
(term of office: 1 January 2018 to 31 December 2019)

Mr. Giorgio Veronesi, Italy, succeeds Prof. Mike Considine, who held this position for four years (2014-2017); he also holds the role of EFCE Treasurer.
At the recent EFCE General Assembly in Barcelona, Spain, he was elected for a two-year term of office with effect from 1 January 2018.

Giorgio Veronesi spent his career in the Engineering and Construction business and is currently Commercial Manager with Techint in Milan and member of the Executive Committee of AIDIC. He first joined the Executive Board in 2016 as a trustee. 


Professor David Bogle (Scientific Vice-President)
(term of office: 1 January 2018 to 31 December 2019)

Prof. David Bogle, United Kingdom, succeeds Professor Jean-Marc Le Lann, who held this position for four years (2014-2017).
At the recent EFCE General Assembly in Barcelona, Spain, he was elected for a two-year term of office with effect from 1 January 2018.

David Bogle is professor of chemical engineering and Pro-Vice-Provost of the Doctoral School at University College London, as well as a Fellow of the Institution of Chemical Engineers and a Fellow of the Royal Academy of Engineering. Bogle is a long-serving member of the CAPE Working Party and was its deputy chair from 2003 to 2008.


Professor Rafiqul Gani (EFCE  Past President)
(first term of office: 1 January 2014 to 31 December 2015, second term of office: 1 January 2016 - 31 December 2017)

Prof. Rafiqul Gani, Denmark, graduated with BSc in chemical engineering from the Bangladesh University of Engineering and Technology, Dhaka, in 1975. From 1976-1980, he studied at Imperial College in London for his MSc in chemical engineering, DIC and PhD. Prof. Gani spent the period 1980-1985 as a senior researcher at the Planta Piloto de Ingeniería Quimica (PLAPIQUI), an Argentinian institute devoted to teaching, research and development of technology in chemical engineering, followed by a year as visiting researcher at the Department of Chemical Engineering at DTU. In 1986, he joined the same department as assistant professor, and in 2000 he was appointed a Professor in Systems Design.

Prof. Gani's research interests are focused on: Multiscale modelling for managing the complexity in process-product design; Sustainable process design and analysis, including process intensification; Computer aided product (molecule and formulation) design; Development of systematic computer aided methods & tools; Development of predictive models for estimation of properties of chemical systems.

Professor Gani has been a member of the EFCE Executive Board since 2005 and a member and past chairman (2001-2007) of the EFCE Working Party on CAPE.  In 2010 he was awarded the prestigious Recent Innovative Contribution in CAPE Award of the Working Party. From 1 January 2012 to 31 December 2013 he served as EFCE's Scientific Vice-President.




EFCE Management Committee


  • EFCE President (Dr. Hermann J. Feise)
  • Executive Vice-President (Mr. Giorgio Veronesi)
  • Scientific Vice-President (Prof. David Bogle)
  • Representatives of the three General Secretariats (Ms. Claudia Flavell While; Prof. Willi Meier, Ms. Ines Honndorf; Mr. Francois Nicol, Dr. Martine Poux)


EFCE Executive Board Members (EFCE Charity Trustees)

(term of office: 1 January 2018 - 31 December 2019)

Prof. Adisa Azapagic
University of Manchester, School of Chemical Engineering and Analytical Science, C16, The Mill
Manchester M13 9PL, United Kingdom; E-mail: adisa.azapagic(at)

Prof. Jerzy Baldyga
Warsaw University of Technology, Faculty of Chemical and Process Engineering, ul. Warynskiego 1, 00-645 Warszawa, Poland; E-mail: jerzy.baldyga(at)

Prof. David Bogle       (Scientific Vice-President)
University College London, Department of Chemical Engineering, Gower Street, London WC1E 6BT, United Kingdom; E-mail: docschoolhead(at)

Prof. Michael (Mike) Considine                                      
The University of Sheffield, Department of Chemical and Biochemical, Engineering, Sir Robert Hadfield Building, Mappin Street, Sheffield S1 3JD, United Kingdom;                                          E-mail: m.considine(at)

Dr.-Ing. Hermann J. Feise    (EFCE President)
BASF SE, GOI Innovation Management/E-B001, Carl-Bosch-Str. 38, 67056 Ludwigshafen, Germany; E-mail: hermann.feise(at)

Ms. Claudia Flavell-While
The Institution of Chemical Engineers, Davis Building, 165-189 Railway Terrace, Rugby CV21 3HQ, United Kingdom; E-mail: claudia(at)

Prof. Ferenc Friedler
Pazmany Peter Catholic University, International Center for Process, Systems Engineering and Sustainability Budapest, Szentkiralyi u. 28., 1088, Hungary; E-mail: friedler.ferenc(at)

Dr. François Giger (co-opted member since May 2018)
Paris, France; E-mail: francois.giger(at)

Dr. Ir. Antoon ten Kate
Nouryon RD&I, Zutphenseweg 10, 7418 AJ Deventer, Netherlands;
E-mail: antoon.tenkate(at)

Associate Prof. Petr Kluson
Academy of Sciences of the Czech Republic, Institute of Chemical Process Fundamentals,
Rozvojova 135, 165 02 Praha 6, Czech Republic; E-mail: kluson(at)

Prof. Flavio Manenti
Politecnico di Milano, Dipartimento CMIC "Giulio Natta", Centre for Sustainable Process Engineering Research (SuPER), Piazza Leonardo da Vinci 32, 20133 Milano, Italy;
E-mail: flavio.manenti(at)

Prof. Willi Meier 
DECHEMA e.V., P.O. Box 15 01 04, 60061 Frankfurt, Germany; E-mail: willi.meier(at)

Prof. Carlos Manuel Negro Alvarez
Complutense University of Madrid, Rectorado de la Universidad Complutense, Avda. Complutense s/n, 28040 Madrid, Spain; E-mail: cnegro(at)

Mr. François Nicol
VEOLIA RECHERCHE & INNOVATION, 291 Avenue Dreyfous Ducas, 78520 Limay, France;
E-mail: francois.nicol(at)

Dr. Patrick M. Piccione
F. Hoffmann-La Roche AG, 4070 Basel, Switzerland;
E-mail: patrick.piccione(at)

Dr. Bent Sarup
Alfa Laval Copenhagen A/S, Global Sales Unit, Edible Oil Systems, Maskinvej 5, 2860 Söborg, Denmark; E-mail: bent.saru(at)

Mr. Giorgio Veronesi  (Executive Vice-President)
Techint E&C, Via Monte Rosa, 93, 20149 Milano, Italy; E-mail: giorgio.veronesi(at)

Dr. Michael Wilk
Merck KGaA, Senior Vice President Site Operations, Engineering & Maintenance
Postcode: C009/402, Frankfurter Str. 250, 64293 Darmstadt, Germany;
E-mail: michael.wilk(at)



© DECHEMA e.V. last update March 08, 2019