follow us:

LinkedIn_Icon twitter-logo facebook-logo youtube-logo
HomeSitemapLegal NoticePrivacyContactPrint



The call for nominations for 2019 is closed.


Sponsored by
Aspen Oss B.V.

 Aspen Oss Logo algemeen



Excellence Award in Process Safety

The EFCE presents a triennial Excellence Award to recognise a PhD thesis published in the preceding three-year period, which demonstrates outstanding contribution to research and/or practice in process safety. This document describes how this award series will operate and the rules & procedures governing nomination and selection of candidates.

The award will comprise

  • A certificate
  • A cash award of  1500 euros
  • Free access to the Loss Prevention Symposium
  • A travel grant (up to 500 euros) to attend the Loss Prevention Symposium, where the award will be presented

The award will be presented

  • at the triennial Loss Prevention Symposium, in plenary session.


  • The award is presented primarily to researchers or engineers at the begin of their career, who have made excellent contributions to safety in the process industries.
  • Nominations can be submitted by
    -  PhD supervisors at a PhD-awarding institution in an EFCE member country
    -  Members of a national or regional member association of EFCE
  • Self-nominations are excluded. No more than one nomination can be submitted by the same person
  • The nominated PhD Thesis must address a topic relevant to the field of process safety.
  • The nominated PhD Thesis must have been published during the three calendar years preceding the closing date for nominations.
  • The nominated PhD Thesis must have been completed and published and the PhD degree examined and awarded.

Publication of selected work
The successful candidate will be invited to make a presentation at the Loss Prevention Symposium at which the Award is presented.

Call for nominations


Winners of the award



© DECHEMA e.V. last update March 26, 2019