Home / Awards / EFCE Medals and Distinctions / Dieter Behrens Medal

Dieter Behrens Medal


In 1998, the European Federation of Chemical Engineering introduced the Dieter Behrens Medal. The Medal was presented together with the Jacques Villermaux Medal for the first time in October 1999, on the occasion of the 2nd European Congress of Chemical Engineering (ECCE-2) in Montpellier, France.

The Dieter Behrens Medal is presented in principle every four years in recognition of  a significant contribution on behalf of the Federation in raising the profile of chemical engineering in Europe or in relation to the organisation, management or development of EFCE's activity base.

Dieter Behrens Medal 2021

Pierucci Photo

Professor Guy B. Marin

Belgium, is the laureate of the Dieter Behrens Medal 2021.

He has been chosen for the award in recognition of the role he has played for almost thirty years as an active member, secretary and committed Chair of the EFCE Working Party on Chemical Reaction Engineering, co-editor of the EFCE journal ChERD, and for his substantial contribution to Chemical Reaction Engineering in Europe through numerous publications, organisation of conferences and delivery of projects.

He accepts his award at the Award ceremony of the virtual 13th European  Congress of Chemical Engineering - ECCE13, on 20 September 2021.   

Press release


Previous winners of the Dieter Behrens Medal: