Home / Awards / EFCE Medals and Distinctions / Dieter Behrens Medal

Dieter Behrens Medal


In 1998, the European Federation of Chemical Engineering introduced the Dieter Behrens Medal. The Medal was presented together with the Jacques Villermaux Medal for the first time in October 1999, on the occasion of the 2nd European Congress of Chemical Engineering (ECCE-2) in Montpellier, France.

The Dieter Behrens Medal is presented in principle every four years in recognition of  a significant contribution on behalf of the Federation in raising the profile of chemical engineering in Europe or in relation to the organisation, management or development of EFCE's activity base.

Dieter Behrens Medal 2017

Pierucci Photo

Professor Sauro Pierucci

Italy, is the laureate of the Dieter Behrens Medal 2017.

He has been chosen for the award in recognition of the role he has played for almost fifty years as an active member and committed chairman of the EFCE Working Party on Computer Aided Process Engineering (CAPE), member of the former Science Advisory Committee, chairmanship of ECCE-1 and numerous EFCE events, as well as for his substantial contribution to CAPE and Process Systems Engineering in Europe through numerous papers and presentations.

He accepted his award at the Award ceremony of the 10th World Congress of Chemical Engineering - WCCE10  in Barcelona, Spain, on 2 October 2017.   

Previous winners of the Dieter Behrens Medal: