EFCE Excellence Award in Process Safety

Call for nominations 2025

The EFCE presents a triennial Excellence Award to recognise a PhD thesis published in the preceding three-year period, which demonstrates outstanding contribution to research and/or practice in process safety.

The award will comprise

  • A certificate
  • A cash award of  1500 EUR 
  • Free access to the Loss Prevention Symposium
  • A travel grant (up to 500 EUR) to attend the Loss Prevention Symposium, where the award will be presented

The 6th EFCE Excellence Award in Process Safety will be presented at 18th International Symposium on Loss Prevention and Safety Promotion in the Process Industries, which will be held in Bologna, Italy, on 8-11 June 2025. PhD thesis published between January 2022 and December 2024 are eligible for nomination.

Deadline:  31 December 2024
  • The award is presented primarily to researchers or engineers at the begin of their career, who have made excellent contributions to safety in the process industries.
  • Nominations can be submitted by
    -  PhD supervisors at a PhD-awarding institution in an EFCE member country
    -  Members of a national or regional member association of EFCE
  • Self-nominations are excluded. No more than one nomination can be submitted by the same person
  • The nominated PhD Thesis must address a topic relevant to the field of process safety.
  • The nominated PhD Thesis must have been completed and published and the PhD degree examined and awarded during the three calendar years preceding the closing date for nominations (2022-2024).
Nomination procedure, supporting documentation

Supporting documentation: nominations should be submitted via the online submission tool and must contain the following information:

  • Name, address and CV of nominee
  • Name and address of nominator
  • Title of the thesis
  • Date work commenced and date when the PhD thesis was defended
  • Two letters of recommendation in English (no more than two pages each), from two independent referees, as well as one letter of recommendation in English from the nominator (no more than two pages), outlining the key contribution to Loss prevention and safety promotion in the process industries and stating clearly why the contribution is considered to be truly outstanding and thus deserving the Excellence Award.
  • An extended abstract in English (maximum 10 pages) containing the following information: summary, problem addressed, state of the art, key innovations, applications, implementations, results, references
  • A copy of the thesis as published
  • List of relevant publications of the nominee

Submission Form

Nominations must be submitted to reach the Excellence Award Committee no later than the announced deadline. Late nominations will not be considered.
The decisions of the award committee are final and no discussions of any kind will be endered into.

Publication of selected work

The successful candidate will be invited to make a presentation at the Loss Prevention Symposium at which the Award is presented.