follow us:

LinkedIn_Icon twitter-logo facebook-logo youtube-logo
HomeSitemapLegal NoticePrivacyContactPrint


Executive Board members (EFCE Charity Trustees)


EFCE President

Professor Rafiqul Gani
Technical University of Denmark - DTU
Dept. of Chemical  and Biochemical Engineering
Soltofts Plads 1, Building 229
2800 Lyngby
Tel: +45-45-25 2882
Fax: +45-45-93 2906

EFCE Executive Vice-President

Professor Mike Considine
ChemRisk Ltd.
3, The Alders
West Byfleet Surrey KT14 6PB
United Kingdom
Tel: +44-1932402328

EFCE Scientific Vice-President

Professor Jean-Marc Le Lann
Université de Toulouse
4 allee Emile Monso
31030 Toulouse Cedex 4
Tel: +33-6-83162930




EFCE Leadership

New Leadership in 2018

Hermann Feise confirmed as new EFCE President -
New Vice-Presidents and new trustees to join Executive Board in 2018

EFCE President and Vice-Presidents  (EFCE Officers)


Professor Rafiqul Gani (EFCE President)
(first term of office: 1 January 2014 to 31 December 2015, second term of office: 1 January 2016 - 31 December 2017)

Prof. Rafiqul Gani, Denmark, was elected by the General Assembly in April 2013 to succeed Professor Richard Darton in the position of EFCE President from 1 January 2014 for a two-year term of office. He was re-elected for a second two-year term of office with effect from 1 January 2016.

Rafiqul Gani graduated with BSc in chemical engineering from the Bangladesh University of Engineering and Technology, Dhaka, in 1975. From 1976-1980, he studied at Imperial College in London for his MSc in chemical engineering, DIC and PhD. Prof. Gani spent the period 1980-1985 as a senior researcher at the Planta Piloto de Ingeniería Quimica (PLAPIQUI), an Argentinian institute devoted to teaching, research and development of technology in chemical engineering, followed by a year as visiting researcher at the Department of Chemical Engineering at DTU. In 1986, he joined the same department as assistant professor, and in 2000 he was appointed a Professor in Systems Design.

Prof. Gani's research interests are focused on: Multiscale modelling for managing the complexity in process-product design; Sustainable process design and analysis, including process intensification; Computer aided product (molecule and formulation) design; Development of systematic computer aided methods & tools; Development of predictive models for estimation of properties of chemical systems.

Professor Gani has been a member of the EFCE Executive Board since 2005 and a member and past chairman (2001-2007) of the EFCE Working Party on CAPE.  In 2010 he was awarded the prestigious Recent Innovative Contribution in CAPE Award of the Working Party. From 1 January 2012 to 31 December 2013 he served as EFCE's Scientific Vice-President.


Professor Mike Considine (Executive Vice-President)
(first term of office: 1 January 2014 to 31 December 2015, second term of office: 1 January 2016 - 31 December 2017)

Prof. Mike Considine, United Kingdom, succeeds Dr. Wridzer Bakker, who held this position for four years (2010-2013); he also holds the role of EFCE Treasurer.
At the recent EFCE General Assembly in Nice, France, he was re-elected for a second two-year term of office with effect from 1 January 2016.

Prof. Considine is Professor of Process Safety and Loss Prevention at Sheffield University, and founder and director of ChemRisk Ltd, providing process safety consultancy services.


Professor Jean-Marc Le Lann (Scientific Vice-President)
(first term of office: 1 January 2014 to 31 December 2015; second term of office: 1 January 2016 - 31 December 2017)

Prof. Jean-Marc Le Lann, France, succeeds Professor Rafiqul Gani, who held this position for two years (2012-2013). At the recent EFCE General Assembly in Nice, France, he was re-elected for a second two-year term of office with effect from 1 January 2016.

He was the dean at ENSIACET, Toulouse.

Le Lann-photo




EFCE Management Committee


  • EFCE President (Prof. R. Gani)
  • Executive Vice-President (Prof. Mike Considine)
  • Scientific Vice-President (Prof. Jean Marc Le Lann)
  • Representatives of the three General Secretariats (Ms. Claudia Flavell While; Prof. Willi Meier, Ms. Ines Honndorf; Mr. Jean-Pierre Dal Pont, Dr. Martine Poux)


EFCE Executive Board Members (EFCE Charity Trustees)

(term of office: 1 January 2016 - 31 December 2017)

Mr. I. Bülent Atamer  (co-opted)
Terralab Laboratory Equipment, Wear Manufacturing & Trading Co., Cetin Emec Bulvari 1328, Sokak No:14/9,  06460 A.Ovecler Ankara, Turkey
Tel: +90-312 472 7396; Fax: +90-312 472 7398

Dr. Wridzer Bakker 
Armhem, The Netherlands

Prof. Dr. Jerzy Baldyga
Warsaw University of Technology, Faculty of Chemical and Process Engineering, ul. Warynskiego 1, 00-645 Warszawa, Poland
Tel: +48-22 234 6376; Fax: +48-22 825 6037

Prof. Dr. Michael (Mike) Considine    (Executive Vice-President)
ChemRisk Ltd., 3, The Alders, West Byfleet Surrey KT14 6PB, United Kingdom
Tel: +44-1932402328

Mr. Jean-Pierre Dal Pont     
Société Francaise de Génie des Procédés - SFGP, 28 rue Saint-Dominique, 75007 Paris, France
Tel: +33-1-53 59 02 10; Fax: +33-1-45 55 40 33

Prof. Dr. Jiri Drahos
President of the Academy of Sciences of the Czech Republic, Narodni 3,
117 20 Praha 1, Czech Republic
Tel: +420-2-24 229 610; Fax: +420-2-24 240 512

Dr.-Ing. Hermann J. Feise   
BASF SE, GOI Innovation Management/E-B001, Carl-Bosch-Str. 38, 67056 Ludwigshafen, Germany
Tel: +49-621-60 55175; Fax: +49-621-60 48990

Ms. Claudia Flavell-While
The Institution of Chemical Engineers, Davis Building, 165-189 Railway Terrace,
Rugby CV21 3HQ, United Kingdom
Tel: +44-1788-53 44 13; Fax: +44-1788-55 09 04

Prof. Dr. Rafiqul Gani    (EFCE President)
Technical University of Denmark - DTU, Dept. of Chemical Engineering, Soltofts Plads,
Bygning 229, 2800 Lyngby, Denmark
Tel: +45-45-25 28 82; Fax: +45-45-93 29 06

Prof. Dr. Emilia Kondili  (co-opted)
Piraeus University of Applied Sciences (T.E.I. of Piraeus), Mechanical Engineers Department,
Optimisation of Production Systems Laboratory, P. Ralli and Thivon Str. 250, P.C. 122 44 Egaleo, Greece
Tel: +30-210 53 81 430

Prof. Dr. Jean-Marc Le Lann  (Scientific Vice-President)
Université de Toulouse, Director, INP-ENSIACET, 4 allee Emile Monso, 31030 Toulouse Cedex 4, France
Phone: +33-6-83162930

Prof. Dr. Flavio Manenti
Politecnico di Milano, Dipartimento CMIC "Giulio Natta", Centre for Sustainable Process Engineering Research (SuPER), Piazza Leonardo da Vinci 32, 20133 Milano, Italy
Tel: +39-02 2399 3273; Fax: +39-02 7063 3280

Prof. Dr. Willi Meier 
DECHEMA e.V., P.O. Box 15 01 04, 60061 Frankfurt, Germany
Tel: +49-69-7564 143 ; Fax: +49-69-7564 201

Prof. Dr. Carlos Manuel Negro Alvarez
Complutense University of Madrid, Rectorado de la Universidad Complutense, Avda. Complutense s/n, 28040 Madrid, Spain
Tel: +34-91 3944 242; Fax:+34-91 3944 243

Mr. François Nicol
VEOLIA RECHERCHE & INNOVATION, 291, Avenue Dreyfous Ducas, 78520 Limay, France
Tel: +33-1-3063 1096 ; Fax: +33-1-3063 1200

Dr. Bent Sarup
Alfa Laval Copenhagen A/S, Vegetable Oil Technology Business Unit, Maskinvej 5, 2860 Söborg, Denmark

Dr.-Ing. Andreas Schreiner
Novartis Pharma Stein AG, PharmOps Switzerland, MS&T, WST-110.1.414, Schaffhauserstr., 4332 Stein, Switzerland
Tel: +41-62 865 9082

Prof. Dr. Eva Sorensen
University College London, Dept. of Chemical Engineering, Torrington Place,
London WC1E 7JE, United Kingdom

Mr. Giorgio Veronesi
Techint E&C, Via Monte Rosa, 93, 20149 Milano, Italy

Prof. Dr. Bruno Zelić
University of Zagreb, Faculty of Chemical Engineering and Technology, Marulicev trg 19, 10 000 Zagreb, Croatia
Tel: +385-1 4597 281; Fax: +385-1 4597 260


© DECHEMA e.V. last update December 12, 2017