follow us:

LinkedIn_Icon twitter-logo facebook-logo youtube-logo
HomeSitemapLegal NoticePrivacyContactPrint


Rules for Honorary EFCE Membership

EFCE  Press  Release 9/2017

"EFCE confers highest honours at World Congress"

EFCE  Press  Release 8/2010

"EFCE honorary membership awarded to Prof. Gerhard Kreysa"




Honorary Membership

The EFCE Executive Board may confer the title Honorary Member on an individual, who has made extraordinary contributions to the life and welfare of the EFCE over an extended period of time.

Honorary Members of the EFCE:

Prof. Hanns P.K. Hofmann, Germany (†, awarded 2003 )

Prof. K. Roel Westerterp, The Netherlands († August 2013, awarded 2003)

Dr. Trevor J. Evans, UK (awarded 2007)

Prof. Dr. Gerhard Kreysa, Germany  (awarded 2010)

Prof. Dr. Richard Darton, United Kingdom  (awarded 2017)

Prof.Ing Jirí Drahoš, Czech Republic

awarded on 25 August 2018
during the opening session of CHISA 2018, in Prague, Czech Republic


The  Federation honours the distinguished contribution of Professor Ing. Jiří Drahoš, DrSc. dr.hc., to the development of multiphase chemical reactors, education and training across Europe through his commitment to the Federation, the development of the discipline, and to international friendship and understanding.

Jirí Drahoš completed the study of physical chemistry at the Institute of Chemical Technology, Prague (ICTP) in 1972. He then began a study stay at the Institute of Chemical Process Fundamentals of the Czechoslovak Academy of Sciences (CSAS), now the Czech Academy of Sciences (CAS), where in 1977 he received the degree of CSc. (candidate of sciences). He has worked at this Institute since 1977, holding various positions, such as research scientist, senior research scientist, Department Head, Deputy Director (1992- 1995), and Director (1996-2003) . In 2005-2008 he served as the Vice-President of the CAS and since 2009 he has been appointed as the President of the CAS.
In 1994, he qualified as Associate Professor in chemical engineering at ICTP. In 1999, he defended a thesis for the DrSc. degree in chemical engineering at ICTP, and in 2003 he was appointed Full Professor. In 2006, he received an Honorary Doctorate from the Slovak Technical University in Bratislava, Slovak Republic. From 1985-1986, he worked as an Alexander von Humboldt Fellow at the University of Hannover.
Principal research interest of Professor Drahos is focused on multiphase chemical reactors. He has published more than 70 original papers in impacted international journals, is the co-inventor of 10 international and 10 Czech patents. According  to Science Citation Index (SCI) and other sources, his scientific papers have been cited more than 1000 times.
He is a Fellow of the Learned Society CR, Fellow of the Engineering Academy CR, Senator of the Academia Scientiarum et Artium Europaea, Honorary Fellow of the Institution of Chemical Engineers UK, President of the Czech Society of Chemical Engineering, and member of the Board of Directors of the Czech Association of Chemical  lndustry.
He held the position of member of the Executive Board of the European Federation of Chemical Engineering (2005-2017), and served as its President in 2006-2009. Since 2002 he has chaired the series of International Congresses of Chemical and Process Engineering CHISA in Prague. He is the subject editor of the international journal Chemical Engineering Research and Design.
In 2012, Prof. Drahos was awarded by the State Medal of Merit of the First Grade for service in the area of science.


© DECHEMA e.V. last update October 17, 2018