

MINUTES for the Meeting of the Working Party on Mixing

Held on the occasion of WCCE10 2017 Fira Gran Via, Barcelona, Spain

Date: Wednesday Oct 4, 2017 Time: 1.30pm – 2.30pm

Attendees

Delegate & elected members: Rufat Abiev (RA), Ville Alopaeus (VA), Joelle Aubin (JA), Jerzy Baldyga (JB), Pavel Ditl (PD), Giusi Montante (GM), Joachim Ritter (JR), Harry van den Akker (HA).

Guest & honorary members: Ivan Fort (IF), Minye Liu (ML), Catherine Xuereb (CX)

Apologies

Alberto Brucato, Andrea Ducci, Tomas Jirout, Matthias Kraume, José Carlos Lopes, Alvin Nienow, Gul Ozcan Taskin, Anders Rasmuson

1. General information (Jerzy Baldyga – JB)

JB presented the main ideas of the new guidelines for EFCE WPs.

The guidelines have undergone substantial changes since April 2017 and amendments may be made again in the near future.

Membership categories

<u>Delegates</u>: nominated by the member society to the EFCE General Secretariat; WP Chair will make decision; membership is not transferable to another person; full voting rights; 3-year term, renewable.

<u>Elected members</u>: nominated and voted in by sitting members of WP; full voting rights; 3-year term, renewable.

<u>Guest members</u>: not limited to European countries; appointment by WP Chair; no voting rights; 3-year term, renewable.

<u>Honorary members</u>: voted by sitting members, no voting rights; life membership or until resignation.

Current members

Delegate and elected members, 2017

First name	Last name	Country	Status
Serafim	Vlaev	Bulgaria	Delegate
Pavel	Ditl	Czech Republic	Delegate
Tomas	Jirout	Czech Republic	Delegate
Ville	Alopaeus	Finland	Delegate
Joël	Bertrand	France	Delegate
Matthias	Kraume	Germany	Delegate
Joachim	Ritter	Germany	Delegate
Alberto	Brucato	Italy	Delegate
Giusi	Montante	Italy	Delegate
Harry	Van den Akker	Netherlands	Delegate
Jerzy	Baldyga	Poland	Delegate
Rufat	Abiev	Russia	Delegate
Anders	Rasmuson	Sweden	Delegate
Sebastian	Hirschberg	Switzerland	Delegate
Andrea	Ducci	υк	Delegate
Gul	Ozcan-Taskin	υк	Delegate
Joelle	Aubin	France	Elected
José Carlos	Lopes	Portugal	Elected

The following members have resigned in 2017:

- Serafim Vlaev
- Joël Bertrand
- Sebastian Hirschberg

The following members have not participated in WP meetings for at least two years:

- Tomas Jirout
- Matthias Kraume
- Anders Rasmusson

Following the guidelines, the WP Chair must inform these members that their membership will be terminated if they are not present at the next meeting 2018.

Harry van den Akker has confirmed that he still a member of and represents The Netherlands member society, regardless of his professional activity in Ireland.

Honorary members, 2017

- Ivan Fort
- Alvin Nienow

It was agreed that Serfim Vlaev and Joël Bertrand will become Honorary members

Guest members, 2017

As of the WP Mixing website the following people are Guest members:

First name	Last name	Country
Suzanne	Kresta	Canada
Martine	Poux	France
Leonid	Braginsky	Israel
Vadim	Barabash	Russia
Yushi	Hirata	Japan
Paul	Mavros	Greece
Ramesh	Hemrajani	USA
Art	Etchells	USA
Piero	Armenante	USA
Richard	Calabrese	USA

Many of these people have not participated in WP meetings in recent years so the WP Chair will send a letter asking them to confirm their membership or not.

Participation of WP Mixing in new EFCE Section on Energy

Section Chair is Prof. François Marechal (EPFL).

The themes covered are the following:

- 1. Energy and resource efficiency in the chemical and process industry.
- 2. Conversion and usage of renewable energy sources.
- 3. Energy storage and electrochemistry.
- 4. CO₂ capture, re-use and sequestration
- 5. Biochemistry and energy
- 6. Energy for mobility
- 7. Energy policy and economics

WP Mixing is interested in energetic efficiency of mixing, micromixing, agitation, creation of contact area, contacting reactants etc, so this section can be of interest for our members

2. Elections

Election of WP Chair & Secretary

1 candidate: Jerzy Baldyga

No. sitting members present and voting	8
No. votes for	8
No. votes against	0

Proposal for secretary: Joelle Aubin

No. sitting members present and voting	8
No. votes for	8
No. votes against	0

Election of new members

Adam Kowalski

No. sitting members present and voting	8
No. votes for	8
No. votes against	0

Gustavo Padron

No. sitting members present and voting	8
No. votes for	8
No. votes against	0

Jérôme Morchain

No. sitting members present and voting	8
No. votes for	8
No. votes against	0

Daniela Dzhonova

No. sitting members present and voting	8
No. votes for	8
No. votes against	0

3. Extension of competency of WP Mixing

JB suggested that it may be a good to modify the WP name so that it is a bit more attractive and modern.

A short session of brainstorming for new WP names during the meeting resulted in the following ideas:

- Mixing for chemical reaction, for formulation, for product design
- Mixing and product formulation (or engineering)
- Mixing Science, technology and products
- Mixing technology and product formulation (or engineering)
- Mixing and associated processes

JR mentioned the new WP on Quality by Design and the necessity to fit in with other WPs. ML mentioned that similar discussions have taken place in NAMF in the past. His opinion was that including other adjectives may narrow the domains of covered.

CX suggested that maybe taking the risk of changing the boundaries of the WP could actually make it more attractive.

JB discussed product formulation versus product engineering. Product engineering is a very broad term and covered by another WP, whilst product formulation is more specific.

It was decided to pursue the discussion and brainstorming between members via email and then vote via an online poll.

2. Mixing Awards, 2018 (G. Montante)

Young Research Award (YRA)

The EFCE no longer will sponsor the award. GM has negotiated with EFCE that Bayer will provide a 1500€ donation for the YRA award. JA confirmed that Mixing 16 (Toulouse) will cover the registration fees for the YRA. A call for sponsorship of the travel expenses will be organised with the organisation of the conference. The Call for the YRA has been already published by EFCE in the websites of EFCE, WP on Mixing and 16th European Conference on Mixing. The Call coincides with that of the previous ones, apart from slight modifications including deadline (20 March 2018), way of submission (on-line via the EFCE website instead of by e-mail). The WP members are invited to spread the Call and to submit nominations.

Lifetime Recognition Award

BHR Group can no longer sponsor the award. GM has contacted Mixing Solutions following Richard Grenville's suggestion in Birmingham, however they have not replied.

GM will send out a call for sponsorship (to cover Mixing 16 conference registration and travel expenses) to various companies. JR offered to transmit the information to various companies

in Germany. The Call for nomination will be issued as soon as the new sponsor will be identified. As for the YRA call, it will be just updated with respect to previous editions.

Members of Awards Committee

Currently 6 members (all academics): Joël Bertrand, Ivan Fort, Pavel Ditl, Alvin Nienow, Harry van den Akker, Giusi Montante.

GM pointed out the absence of an industrial member and suggested the nomination of JR (Bayer) to participate in the committee; JR accepted the proposal.

3. Date/venue for next WP Mixing meeting in 2018

16th European Conference on Mixing, 9-12 September 2018, Toulouse.

Actions

Action	Person
Letter to 'absent' delegate members	JA, JB
Letter to 'absent' guest members to confirm membership	JA, JB
Discussion on new name for WP Mixing	JA
Inform EFCE of election results	JA
Announce call for YRA to WP members	