follow us:

LinkedIn_Icon twitter-logo facebook-logo
HomeSitemapLegal NoticePrivacyContactPrint


Rules for Honorary EFCE Membership

EFCE  Press  Release 8/2010

"EFCE honorary membership awarded to Prof. Gerhard Kreysa"




Honorary Membership

The EFCE Executive Board may confer the title Honorary Member on an individual, who has made extraordinary contributions to the life and welfare of the EFCE over an extended period of time.

Honorary Members of the EFCE:

Prof. Hanns P.K. Hofmann, Germany (†, awarded 2003 )

Prof. K. Roel Westerterp, The Netherlands († August 2013, awarded 2003)

Dr. Trevor J. Evans, UK (awarded 2007)


Prof. Dr. Gerhard Kreysa, Germany

awarded on 28 August 2010
during the Festive Congress Opening of

Gerhard Kreysa studied Chemistry at the University of Dresden and received his PhD in 1970. In 1973 he joined the Karl Winnacker Institute of DECHEMA in Frankfurt am Main. He developed new concepts for the utilization of electrochemical "packed bed" and "fluidized bed" reactors, which became prominent for waste water treatment in the process industry. He also played a leading role in the clarification of the "cold fusion" affaire in 1989. In 1985 he was appointed Professor at the Chemical Engineering Department of the University of Dortmund. He was a recipient of the Chemviron Award in 1980, the MAX-Buchner-Research-Award of DECHEMA and the Castner Medal of the Society of Chemical Industry in 1994, the Wilhelm Ostwald Medal of the Saxon Academy of Sciences in Leipzig in 2006. From 1992 to 2009 he served as Chief Executive of DECHEMA Society of Chemical Engineering and Biotechnology in Frankffurt am Main, Germany. He obtained many distinctions, e.g., Honorary Doctor of Technology from the Royal Institute of Technology in Stockholm (KTH) in 1999, Foreign Member of the Royal Swedish Academy of Engineering Sciences (IVA), Stockholm in 2003, Honorary Fellow of the Institution of Chemical Engineers in 2003, and Honorary Member of the Czech Society of Chemical Engineering in 2006. In 2007 he was awarded with the Order of Merit of the Free State of Saxony, and in 2008 he became a member of the German Academy of Technical Sciences (acetech). He remains a lively interest in the further development of science and engineering and is highly regarded as an advisor on national and international issues.






© DECHEMA e.V. last update February 23, 2015